Easy Shabby Chic Rag and Crystal Chandelier

A long overdue rainy day here in Key West.  Time to get to one of my many projects that I’ve been meaning to get to..(I know you all have a closet full of them, I can’t be the only one!

Finally my plants are happy! It’s been so unusually dry this month.

DIY Rag Chandelier

I bought this shade a few years ago, and it’s too big for any lamps in my small cottage. Been saving it for a project just like this! The hanging bulb.. it was for one of those hanging Ikea-ish paper lanterns that I picked up at a yard sale sometime way back..

DIY Rag Chandelier

I removed the fabric from the shade with an Exacto knife.

DIY Rag Chandelier

I used twine to tie the bones together…

DIY Rag Chandelier

And added my ever trusty E6000 to secure the knots.

DIY Rag Chandelier

Maybe not necessary, but I’d rather be safe than have all my hard work come crashing down!

DIY Rag Chandelier

I cut some old cotton sheets into 1 inch strips,

DIY Rag Chandelier

and cut off the seams while Elliot supervised.

DIY Rag Chandelier

I tied the strips onto the frame

DIY Rag Chandelier

and added some scraps of ribbon.

DIY Rag Chandelier

I had some leftover chandelier prisms from my Pirate Ship Chandelier so I added those too.

DIY Rag Chandelier

Because I was feeling lazy, I attached them to the frame using some necklaces..

DIY Rag Chandelier

But hey, they were free!  They came as a bonus gift on an E-bay purchase, and saved me the time of tying on fishing line. (But anything would do..what do you have around the house, get creative!)

DIY Rag Chandelier

So I finished my rainy day project while Elliot  took a long nap.

DIY Rag Chandelier

I may decide to add some shells, but that’s a project for another day.  Any thoughts? Thanks for stopping by!

DIY Rag Chandelier

4 thoughts on “Easy Shabby Chic Rag and Crystal Chandelier

Leave a Reply

