DIY Shabby Mermaid Bust

DIY Mermaid Bust

Recently I was reviewing my Pinterest Pins.

anchorck

One of my repinners had said regarding my anchor,

“Beach  decor- can’t decide if it’s tacky or cool! Might be a great thing to do with all the costume jewelry I’ve gathered!”

 Shabby Beach/Coastal Cottage may not be for everyone, but I love it.  If you don’t love it, stop reading right here,  cause you’ll definitely hate this project!

My mom found this bust at a salvage shop. Pretty, but it sat there for a while before I decided what I wanted to do with it.

DIY Mermaid Bust

Nice, but I wasn’t thrilled with the bow on top of her head (which I later realized you can’t see in this picture!)

Then I thought, how cute would she be if I made her a mermaid?

DIY Mermaid Bust

Supplies needed:

  • A bust. This one was found at a salvage shop.
  • E6000 adhesive (Don’t even try this with another glue. You’ll have wasted a lot of time.)
  • A small paintbrush.
  • Judykin’s Diamond Glaze
  • Various shells, sea glass, coral
  • Gluegun/gluesticks
  • Aluminum foil

Start by squeezing a bit of E6000 onto a piece of foil. Just dab a shell into the E6000, really just a little is all it takes. Squeeze a couple of dots of hot glue on top of the E6000. Press to your figurine for a few seconds.  The E6000 forms the permanent bond, the hot glue forms the “fast bond”.  Alone, the silicone based E6000 will slide around, but not when topped with the hot glue. Really, try it!

I started my figurine with one of my leftover Vintage Jewelry Starfish from my Christmas sale, and worked my way around her head. I realize not everyone has previously made Vintage Jewelry Starfish lying around, but get creative. An old brooch would look great, or a starfish covered in glass glitter.. or just leave it out. I like that it creates a unique focal point.

Shabby Mermaid Bust

Add, layer, fill in the spots…

Shabby Mermaid Bust

Shabby Mermaid Bust

 I added Limpet Shells at the bottom to create a “Mermaid Scale” look..

Shabby Mermaid Bust

Shabby Mermaid Bust

Next.  You’ll have spider web strands of glue everywhere..anyone that’s ever used a glue gun knows what a pain they are!  But did you know if you hit it with a blow dryer, pouf! They’re gone!

close up

Lastly, Judykin’s Diamond Glaze,  I love this product so much!  It’s a very thin, very clear(non-yellowing) adhesive/top coat. It just kind of insures it’ll all stay together. Drip some out of the bottle, and spread out with the paintbrush. Work in small areas, letting dry in between.

Shabby Mermaid Bust

And she’s done!  Just love how she came out!  Now.. To sell, or keep?

                Thanks for visiting!   -Rebecca

Shabby Mermaid Bust

Shabby Mermaid Bust

2 thoughts on “DIY Shabby Mermaid Bust

Leave a Reply

